HMO licences: What are the different types?

Understanding HMO Licences: In the UK, there are two categories of HMO licences: ‘Mandatory’, and ‘Additional’, their meanings and uses are as follows:

Mandatory Licensing

This licensing type applies to all large HMOs, which are classified as a property that is occupied by five or more people from multiple households who share facilities.

An HMO property must be licensed under national law in order to be lawfully let out.

Additional Licensing

In the case where a local authority does not believe that an HMO is completely compliant with mandatory licensing, they can designate a specific area as being ‘subject to additional HMO licensing’.

Additional licensing schemes tend to be introduced and enforced in areas where there are a lot of HMO-type properties, their intention is to ensure fire safety is improved as there is naturally a higher risk of fire and wear and tear-related damages and accidents in HMO properties.

Check With Your Local Authority

Due to the increased popularity of HMOs as an investment in certain areas, especially within cities, always be sure to check with the local council when planning to let an HMO in order to find out the planning schemes and requirements in place.

Unsure of the requirements of your local authority’s HMO licences? check the Govt. HMO license checker here.

Or if you would like some more advice on HMO property as an investment, speak to us today.

Leave a Comment